Wednesday, 15 December 2010

Trinity Laban Announces Honorary Fellows

Akram Khan MBE, Alan Britten CBE, Anna Jattkowski-Hudson, and Robin Kiel MBE have received Honorary Fellowships from Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance in recognition of their outstanding efforts and unique contributions to the arts. The awards were presented at the Trinity Laban music graduation ceremony on December 8 in the Old Royal Naval College Chapel in Greenwich.

Akram Khan MBE is one of the most acclaimed choreographers of his generation working in Britain today. Born in London into a family of Bangladeshi origin, he studied with the renowned kathak dancer and teacher Sri Pratap Pawar. In 2000 he launched Akram Khan Dance Company with producer Farooq Chaudhry, which has provided him with a platform for innovation and a diverse range of work through collaboration with artists from other disciplines. Akram Khan Dance Company has performed to packed houses as part of Trinity Laban’s Laban Theatre public performance dance programme.

Alan Britten CBE became the first chair of the English Tourism Council in 1999. A former Trinity College of Music and Trinity Laban board member, he is a trustee of Trinity Laban, and President of the Friends of Aldeburgh Music – the year-round performance centre which supports artists at all stages in their careers by providing inspirational and relaxed spaces in which to create new work.

Trinity Laban alumnus Anna Jattkowski-Hudson currently works as Registrar at Rockford College – an independent liberal arts higher education provider in Illinois, USA. She is a popular figure at Trinity Laban having spent 10 years working at Trinity College of Music and Trinity Laban, first as Curriculum Manager and then as Academic Registrar.

Robin Kiel MBE, who studied the bassoon and composition at Trinity, has been a lifelong advocate for the performing arts. He played a major role in the development and promotion of the Government’s national Music and Dance Scheme which provides exceptionally talented children and young people access to high quality dance and music education through hubs including Trinity Laban’s Centre of Advanced Training and Saturday school Junior Trinity. In 2008, Robin was appointed MBE for his work in this important area of provision for talented young musicians and dancers.

Chairman of the Trinity Laban Board of Governors Sir Robert Scott comments: “We are delighted to welcome Akram, Alan, Anna and Robin as Trinity Laban Honorary Fellows. Each of them stands out for their unique accomplishments in the fields of performing arts and arts education. It is inspirational for our students to see examples of people who have – through vision, dedication and hard work – achieved so much.”

Trinity College London also presented honorary awards under the licence of Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance during the graduation ceremony. Professor Charles Alderson was appointed Honorary Fellow (Hon FTCL) for his extensive services to the College and the arts. Robin Popplesdorf and Glyndwr Jones became Honorary Members (Hon TCL) in recognition of their commitment and dedication to the Institution.

No comments: